Maple Bacon Pecan Ice Cream

IMG_4177

IMG_4174Oh, yes, I did! I caved to pressure from Rutabaga’s brother. Well, that’s not even true. I am a total sucker when it comes to the whims of my kids, especially food whims.

Don’t get me wrong. I can set a limit if there is a good reason. This comes up in the dr deb office all the time. I treat the parents of teenagers and they often need lots of help to learn to be clear and firm when necessary.

The truth is, if you are clear and firm with kids when they are young, there is very little need to do so when they are older. If they know you mean business when you say no, they don’t pester, they don’t whine, and they don’t suffer.

I saw no reason to say no to Brian when he suggested making bacon ice cream. I felt a little skeptical, but I also figured it’s probably not a trend for nothing. Actually, Brian equivocated, knowing he wouldn’t be home for long…and how much bacon ice cream can one person consume in a week? He consulted his father and his friends to make sure there were other interested parties.

IMG_4169

IMG_4170So, I modified my no churn recipe. And the results were surprising. I really, really liked it and that was unexpected. I thought it would be novel, interesting, but a little disgusting. I wouldn’t eat a whole bowl, but I can’t eat a whole bowl of any ice cream; it’s way too rich for my little hippie system. The men consumed large quantities. Both of my men are buff gym rats at the moment and I think eating bacon ice cream made them leaner. Men!

IMG_4167

IMG_4168

Bacon ice cream is great with Black Sesame Loaded Oatmeal Cookies! Who knew?

IMG_4175

IMG_4171

Maple Bacon Pecan Ice Cream

I used organic, uncured bacon and organic maple syrup.

3 cups heavy cream
1 can sweetened condensed milk
½ cup maple syrup
¼ cup dark corn syrup
1 tsp. salt
1 cup toasted chopped pecans
12 oz crisp bacon, chopped

Whip the cream and salt in a stand mixer or with a hand mixer until soft peaks form. Add the condensed milk, corn syrup and half the maple syrup with the machine running and continue to whip until firm-ish. Fold in the remaining ingredients by hand. Taste and add a little extra salt if you think it could use some.

Scoop the mixture into a big, lidded container and freeze for at least 8 hours before serving. Drizzle some extra maple syrup over the top because you’re already going to hell.

IMG_4173
IMG_4176

6 thoughts on “Maple Bacon Pecan Ice Cream

  1. I am all for no-churn ice cream recipes.. but only have tried my hand at them a couple of times. You definitely have got me inspired to make a no churn ice cream again – this maple, bacon and pecan ice cream looks super creamy and delicious!

    Like

    1. Thanks! It says nice and creamy in my old, basement freezer, curious to see if it is the same once I get a “real” one. We all liked the taste better when it was freshly made; that is def not true with all the no churn ice creams, but the bacon seemed better somehow on the first couple days. Maybe the novelty wore off…? Let me know what you think if you make it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

